Photo of Bettisfield village from the air

Bettisfield village from the air

Bettisfield is a small, rural village of around 150 dwellings on the edge of the Welsh Marches, straddling the Llangollen canal. Bettisfield is in a unique position as it adjoins one of the largest and most southerly raised peat bogs in Britain, the Fenn’s, Whixall, Bettisfield, Cadney and Wem Mosses.


Bettisfield is surrounded by countryside whose farms and estates once provided employment for villagers. Many of the farms and properties were owned by the Hanmer Estate until 1920 when outlying properties and farms were sold to pay death duties. Bettisfield can no longer boast of a shop, post office, pub, smithy or bakery. Bettisfield Station and the Cambrian line on which it stood have long since closed and our village school now enjoys a new lease of life as the village hall. The market towns of Whitchurch, Ellesmere and Wem each lie about 6 miles distant to the . northeast, west and southeast.

St John the Baptist Church

bettisfield church



Image produced from the Ordnance Survey Get-a-map service. Image reproduced with kind permission of Ordnance Survey and Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland.

Please see the sidebar for other sub pages.