There has been a mill in Bettisfield since the late 1700s. The Cadney Bank windmill was built in 1790 and is the only windmill in the Maelor. The windmill is circular, built of brick and had two sails. The mill was operated by the Hughes family through the 1800s. In 1868 a steam mill was built by Edward and Sarah Hughes and the windmill gradually fell into disrepair.
Both mills were situated at the end of Cadney Lane but while the windmill enjoyed a commanding presence over the mosses and surrounding countryside, the steam mill was built closer to the Roden Brook.
Many thanks to Audrey Hughes of Cadney Bank House for permission to reproduce her photographs.
The windmill all but vanished into history and by 2000 it was reduced to a single story topped by corrugated sheets which formed a shelter for cattle.
Fortunately Master Carpenter Richard Cope saw the potential and bought the wreck in 2004. He embarked on a labour of love and restored the windmill to a stunning home and replaced the sails in the autumn of 2018.